The format of the Student Mountainbike Cross Country Cup 2017

Student Mountainbike Cross Country Cup 2017, the event format

The event format

A Cross Country Mountainbike Cup competition falls under the UCI XCO rules and regulations. This event is a Cycling SA sanctioned event. The format of the races are the following:

  • 5km lap
  • 75 minute racing for Men – (5-6 laps)
  • 60 minute racing for Women – (4-5 laps)

2 racing categories will compete in these events:

  • All participants will race as a member of their Educational institution. Please check that your institution is on the National list of tertiary educational facilities. Please present your student card at registration.
  • Please select a captain to represent your institution, unless of course you are the only participant from your college – in which case you will be the captain.
  • U/20 and Open categories. These categories will race together with no riders older than 28 years old
  • U/20 podium and Open podium to be honoured with Gold, Silver and Bronze medals for Men and Women
  • An unique Anatomic leaders jersey for the overall leading Men and Women category (new jersey to awarded after each event. A winners jersey to be awarded after final event)

A 3-event series competition:

  • Event #1, Sunday, August 13 – Bekker School, Magaliesburg
  • Event #2, Sunday, August 20 – Waterworks Lapa (behind Wonderboom High School), Pretoria
  • Event #3, Sunday, August 27 – Koedoeslaagte Trail Park & Venue, Parys

Points and seeding:

  • Points for fist 6 riders per race: 12, 8, 5, 3, 2, 1
  • Seeding – according to log per academical institution. First event seeding will be according to institutions’ selected rider on the front followed by the masses. National SA XCO Champions will receive preferential seeding
  • Team managers should be appointed by all teams
  • The Series will be held in a very similar format as the National Spur High School MTB League

Day program:

  • 08:00 Registration
  • 08:00 – Route opens for practice
  • 09:30 – Women Race
  • 10:15 – Mens Race
  • 12:00 – Prize giving and after-party

Contact details:

Enter the event

Visit in order to enter these events