Menlo Park High Wins Record MTB Season


The explosive growth of mountain biking as a school sport was once again highlighted this weekend when more than 600 riders took to the track for the Gauteng finals of the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League presented by Anatomic.

Menlopark High School once again showed their supremacy staying undefeated at the top of the log securing eight podium positions and three series winners on a challenging and technical track. Midstream College finished overall second and Zwartkops High School secured third place following a record season with more than 2500 riders representing 60 schools battling it out for a place in the upcoming national championships.


Gauteng junior series winners Martien Venter and Saffron Vosloo, both from Menlopark High School were also appointed team captains leading the defending national champions, Gauteng, in the inter-provincial finals in October.

According to Gauteng league co-ordinator, Deon Steyn the year-on-year growth in the league has been amazing. Since becoming part of the national Spur School Mountain Bike League in 2009, the numbers has shot up from 225 to 609 participants last year. Steyn, who is one of only seven UCI International Moutain Bike Commissaires in South Africa, is invested in establishing the sport of mountain bike riding as an official school sport. He developed a special school commissaires’ training course, which he presented in Gauteng recently as part of his effort to formalise the sport.


“The Anatomic High School MTB Series has become the biggest XCO series in South Africa, drawing more participants than provincial and even national races. Up until last year the Gauteng Series was open to everybody and we had riders from Limpopo, Freestate, NW and Mpumlanga participating in the Gauteng events. The growth of the league necessitated that we split the regions to avoid racing fields becoming too big for the cross-country lap racing format (also the Olympic format) of the league,” said Steyn.

Youth 16 Girls Podium

Youth 16 Girls Podium

The league will culminate with the Spur Schools Mountain Bike League National Finals in October, when MTB fans from across Sub-Saharan Africa, including South Africa and neighbours Zimbabwe and Namibia will congregate at Bekker School in Magaliesberg to compete as schools as well as provinces for the coveted Spur Schools MTB League trophy and top spot on the provincial log.

For further information, follow us on @SpurMTBleague, log on to SpurSchoolsLeague on Facebook or visit

Youth 15 Boys Podium

Youth 15 Boys Podium

Sub Junior boys
Hennie van Wyk – Garsfontein HS
Andre Gouws – Afrikaans Hoër Seunsskool
Matthiam Hofmann – Waterkloof HS

Sub Junior Girls
Monique du Toit – Menlopark HS
Antonique Grotsius – Menlopark HS
Almari Myburgh – Afrikaans Hoër Meisiesskool

Youth 15 Boys
Keagan Bontekoning – Maragon Private School
Jean-Pierre Lloyd – Zwartkop HS
Chris du Plessis – Menlopark HS

Youth 15 Girls
Rimari Sutton – Garsfontein HS
Thana Groenewald – Midstream College
Azulde Britz – Cornwall Hill College

Youth 16 Boys
Gustav Rohde – Menlopark HS
Jayde Davies – Dainfern College
Henru du Toit – Waterkloof HS

Youth 16 Girls
Natasha Zwarts – Midstream College
Kyra Hempel – Menlopark HS
Jualene du Preez – Midstream College

Junior Boys
Martien Venter – Menlopark HS
Wessel Botha – Menlopark HS
Henry Liebenberg – Menlopark HS

Junior Girls
Saffron Vosloo – Menlopark HS
Mignette Von Staden – Helpmekaar Kollege
Melanie Roux – Afrikaans Hoër Meisiesskool

Overall Gauteng Series Winners

Martien Venter – Menlopark HS (Gauteng team Boys Captain)
Saffron Vosloo – Menlopark HS (Gauteng Team Girls Captain)

Youth 16
Gustav Rohde – Menlopark HS
Natasha Zwarts – Midstream College

Youth 15
Wicus Breytenbach – Garsfontein HS
Rimari Sutton – Garsfontein HS

Sub Juniors
Hennie van Wyk – Garsfontein HS
Monique du Toit – Menlopark HS